top of page
Search

GRACE VICTORY

BLOGGER & PRESENTER. AGE 26.

How did you become a blogger?

When I was younger blogging was around, but it wasn’t really known as a job. But now it’s a new job and it’s an industry that’s gone “boom!”


What do you do day to day?

You’re kind of like a photographer, so you take your own blog photos, for YouTube you film your videos. I run my social media account, I meet brands; I do sponsored content where I’m paid to promote a product. I think of my own videos and edit my videos.


Blogging is amazing and I love what I do, but there are some downsides to it. I’m alone a lot. It’s just me! Just one girl in her office, making videos and writing posts. It took me four years to make enough money to live off a month. You can’t expect to have a yearly salary because that’s not really how it works.

If you want to have a blog you need to have a passion for something, you need to have an opinion and a voice and use your voice for the greater good, which is to inspire people or help people. I love talking about certain topics because I feel like I can be a voice for people who feel like they haven’t got one.


What were you like at school?

At school I wasn’t naughty but I wasn’t well behaved. I was in the cheeky middle section. So often my school reports would say: “Grace is a brilliant student, but she tends to burst out into song in lessons, she often eats in class…” I think that’s acceptable! There’s a bit of personality in there.


What is the biggest risk you’ve taken?

The biggest risk was moving out of my home town, moving to South West London where I am now, getting my own flat and then full time blogging, without any savings and in ten grand of debt. However, I tell people that self-belief makes you go places nothing else can. I told myself that I’d make it work. And I made it work.


What would your teenage self think if she could see you now?

If my teenage self could see me now she would say: “Slay, babes!” That’s because my teenage life was quite dark. I went through a lot of trauma and abuse, but I’m out of that and I’ve made a life for myself. She would be very proud. I’m very proud of me.


Where do you get your confidence?

I think I get a lot of my confidence from self-acceptance. If you learn to accept yourself and you realise that women are more than how they look it becomes a lot easier. And also you do have to go on a self-love journey. I think people expect women and men to just love themselves, but no one teaches you. Parents seem to forget and it’s not in the school curriculum – you’re just meant to love yourself and that’s not how it works.




Comments


bottom of page